ACTIVITY

The Roots of Apartheid Timeline









Print this document out onto A3 paper then cut out the events and stick them onto the timeline in the correct order.

1652

First European settlement established - The Dutch East India Trading company established a permanent settlement at the Cape to establish a base camp on the spice route to the East.

1870

1889

Cecil Rhodes arrives in Durban - He brought with him three thousand pounds that his aunt had lent him and used it to invest in diamond diggings in Kimberley.

1913

Land Act - hundreds of thousands of Africans were forced off land which they either owned or were squatting on, and it became compulsory to live in African 'reserves'. This imposed segregation of land based on race was introduced to prevent blacks, except those living in Cape Province, from buying land outside reserves.

1888

Rhodes established the De Beers Mining Company -Rhodes had bought over the smaller mining companies in Kimberley and consolidated them into one company.

1880 to 1881

> The First South African War – Fought between the Boers and the British. The Boers won and gained independence for Transvaal and the Orange Free State.

1912

Formation of the ANC the Native National Congress founded, later renamed the African National Congress, was formed largely in response to early segregation laws.

1950

1889

to 1902

British South Africa Company chartered -

Cecil Rhodes receives British charter to begin the British South Africa Company that inputs more white men into Africa, the company begins to colonize the African interior. This was established with a view to expand further into Rhodesia and achieve his dream of a railway reaching from Cape to Cairo.

1873

Rhodes began his studies at Oxford -Rhodes enrolled at Oriel College, Oxford but stayed for only one term before returning to South Africa. He travelled back and forth between Oxford and South Africa before finally earning his B.A. degree in 1881

1835 to 1846

Great Trek- A movement of Dutch-speaking colonists up into the interior of Southern Africa in search of land where they could establish their own homeland independent of British rule.

1890

Cecil Rhodes becomes Prime Minister of British Cape Colony – One of Rhodes most notorious and infamous undertakings as Prime Minister, was his institution of the Glen Grey Act, a document that is often seen as the blueprint for the Apartheid regime that was to come.

1953

Bantu Education Act – Provided for the establishment of a separate educational system run by the Department of Native Affairs. The primary aim of this educational system was to provide Blacks with skills to serve their own people in the homelands or to work in labouring jobs under whites.

1934

Status of the Union Act -The Union of South Africa parliament enacted the Status of the Union Act, which declared the country to be "a sovereign independent state".

1967

Terrorism Act – The act was stated to facilitate the government's fight against terrorists, but police used the law to purse and prosecute organisations and individuals who resisted state control.

1904

Black South Africans required for the first time to settle in Soweto - Soweto was the first and later became the largest of the all-black townships near white South African cities under the new system of government-mandated residential segregation.

the system of apartheid.

Act of - required that each

classified and registered in

accordance with his or her

racial characteristics as part of

inhabitant of South Africa be

The Second South African War – Again fought between the Boers and the British. The British win this war and take over Transvaal and the Orange Free State.

The Population Registration

1886

Discovery of the Witwatersrand goldfields - The discovery of gold ushered in an influx of mostly British labour and capital which in turn helped establish an industrial economy centred on Johannesburg.

1949

Prohibition of Mixed Marriages Act - Prohibited marriages between white people and people of other races.

to 1914

Scramble for Africa -Western European powers (Belgium, Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, and Spain) partitioned Africa into protectorates, colonies and 'free-trade areas.'

1948

Nationalist Party wins parliamentary elections -Within a year the party makes apartheid the official policy of the government.

1914

Founding of the National Party – the National Party was an Afrikaner ethnic nationalist part that promoted Afrikaner interests in South Africa and was to be long dedicated to policies of apartheid and white supremacy.

1910

Union of South Africa – Formation of the Union of South Africa by former British colonies of the Cape and Natal, and the Boer Republics of Transvaal and Orange Free State. The Union becomes a dominion of the British empire and Afrikaners formed the majority of the white population.

1911

Mines and Works Act -The act only permitted whites to hold skilled jobs in the mining industry.















